2013 Internet Hall of Fame Ceremony held in Berlin

2013-08-05 18:39:25
Hosted by Internet Society (ISOC), the Internet Hall of Fame honors its 2013 inductees in Berlin on August 3rd. The ceremony celebrated the 32 new Internet Hall of Fame inductees, announced on June 26, 2013, for their landmark achievements and contributions to the Internet’s open development and growth.

Madam Qiheng Hu, the former President of Internet Society of China, was selected as the one of the inductees of Global Connectors category.

In the acceptance speech at the Ceremony, Madam Hu expressed deep gratitude to the initiators and creators of the great Internet, the sincere thanks to ISOC as the primary nurturer and leader of the global Internet community, and high respect and gratitude to her Chinese colleagues including the  scientists, engineers, teachers and governmental officials who in the early years joined their efforts to overcome enormous difficulties and lay the road for the Internet entering China.

"Had been able to join my tiny efforts into the historical stream of mankind to bring the great Internet to life in my country, this is my lifetime honor and the happiest thing that is permanently deep in my heart. I believe the better future of the world is in hands of global multi-stakeholders, of them the Chinese Internet Community is a vivid and vibrant part.", said Madam Hu.

During the ceremony in Berlin, the ISOC announced Asia Pacific as the region for the 2014 Internet Hall of Fame event. Latin America has been selected for 2015, followed by Africa in 2016, and North America in 2017.  

The Internet Society also announced that nominations for the third annual Internet Hall of Fame will be accepted starting October 1, 2013. Open to the public, nominations will be accepted until October 31, 2013. More information on the nomination process is available on the Internet Hall of Fame website at http://www.internethalloffame.org/nominations. A complete list of 2012 and 2013 Internet Hall of Fame inductees also can be found at this site. 

IHF Ceremony

ISOC President Lynn St. Amour

Madam Qiheng Hu

2013 Inductees of IHF